Bihar Cabinet Approves Proposal To Create 103 New Nagar Panchayats

The assembly, chaired by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, accredited the Bihar Municipal (Modification) Act 2020


The Bihar Cupboard on Saturday gave its nod for creation of 103 new nagar panchayats, eight new nagar parishads, and upgrading 5 municipal councils to municipal companies, an official launch mentioned. The choice was taken to spice up urbanisation and enhance the states share in central assets, the discharge mentioned.

The Cupboard assembly, chaired by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, accredited the Bihar Municipal (Modification) Act 2020 so as to create/improve/increase 160 city native our bodies.

Bihar has three classes of city native our bodies comprising nagar panchayats, nagar parishads (municipal council) and municipal companies.

The choice was additionally taken in view of persistent calls for made by widespread folks apart from legislators usually elevating the matter within the state meeting, it mentioned.

The Cupboard additionally accredited a proposal for upgrading 32 nagar panchayats to municipal councils and increasing the realm of 12 city native our bodies.


As per the states City Improvement and Housing Departments web site, at the moment there are 12 municipal companies, 46 municipal councils and 85 nagar panchayats.

The 5 municipal councils which have been upgraded to municipal companies are Sasaram (Rohtas), Motihari (East Champaran), Bettiah (West Champaran), Madhubani and Samastipur, it mentioned.

The eight new municipal councils which have come into existence following the Cupboard resolution are Bihta and Sampatchak (Patna), Barauni (Baegusarai), Udakishanganj (Madhepura), Triveniganj (Supaul), Tajpur and Shahpur Patori (Samastipur) and Suryagarha (Lakhisarai).

Among the many 32 nagar panchayats which have been upgraded to municipal councils are Rajgir (Nalanda), Bodhgaya (Gaya), Kanti, Motipur (Muzaffarpur), Teghra and Balia (Begusarai), Banmankhi (Purnea), Sheohar (Sheohar), Naugachhia (Bhagalpur), Haveli Kharagpur (Munger), the discharge mentioned.

Source link